Thread: Early Detection of Females? Stipules turning orange?

Racerx is offline Registered+

Early Detection of Females? Stipules turning orange?

Hey guys, thanks in advance for any advice. Been hanging around here for awhile, finally decided to join when I became medical. Not new to growing, but I am new to growing from seed. I have always used cuttings.

Plants are about 5 weeks old. 1 week into 12/12, still no sex. I am force flowering, as they were not showing their sex. Only water, no nutes, wanted to experiment. Flora Kleen once. The growth on some isnt up to par, but that is because I have multiple plants per pot so I can weed out males/weak plants and maximize my yield. Maybe not the best plan...

Essentially, here is my dilemma. I leave soon for 2 weeks. I have someone tending the garden and I am confident they can keep it healthy, however I do not want to burden them with having to remove any males that pop up. I know this question is asked a lot, and I am impatient, however I have never seen the stipules of a cannabis plant turn orange so I am wondering if this is an indication of sex or if the plant is lacking in a specific nutrient. PH is between 6-7.

Here are some pictures. they arent the best but Ill try to get some in regular light today.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Early Detection of Females?  Stipules turning orange?-dscn2203a.jpg   Early Detection of Females?  Stipules turning orange?-dscn2205aa.jpg   Early Detection of Females?  Stipules turning orange?-dscn2208a.jpg  

I also had the question about whether or not I should have more then 1 plant in each pot. My plan to maximize females was to plant multiple plants per pot, then choose the dominant female and kill the rest. However, I am beginning to think they are finally hurting eachother, as the plants by themselves seem to be growing much faster.