Thread: New Grow Room , Need some Advice ... PLEASE

kmac9119 is offline Registered+

New Grow Room , Need some Advice ... PLEASE

Okay so im just starting my grow room , im very new to growing. I know enough to get my plants to Veg and flower , but not too much about how much light (lumens or watts) needed in my space? Also how many plants should i be growing in my space?

My room size is 7ft Tall , 3 Ft wide and 6 Ft long. Im useing CFL's for Veg and going to use MH for Flowering , just need to know how many plants i should plant and how much watts/lumens i need for this size of a room.

I have 2 400Watt MH balist's , still need to get the Bulbs for both because the Bulbs i have in them are 5000K color temp .

Should i use one 400W , or do i need both .... Also how many CFLs should i have in this size room for Veg ?

Thanks

Also my room is painted a flat white , should i just keep that or cover it up with Alum. Foil ??

And should i keep my lights on for 24 HRs during Veg (Will this hurt the plants at all??) or should i use the 18/4 Cycle ??

keylime is offline Registered+
    Well, you have a 3'x6' area... That would be great for two MH lights, and for flowering.... that is, if you don't want to split it with vegging. Do you have another smaller area for your vegging?
    If not, then I would consider placing it ABOVE the flowering area if there is a possibility of getting access for them from an outside wall. I would then place a shelf at the place you're gonna divide it..... say a height of 4' from the floor. That would give you a total of 4 ft height for flowering and 3' for vegging. Use the florous for vegging, the MH for flowering.

With a 4' ceiling you would not want them to get too tall, so you might want to flower once they are about 6-8" tall. Depending on how much room you need or want to get in there, I would say about 20 girls in flowering. The only problem I haven't solved is a space for your mother(s) if you need it.

/keylime