Thread: Worms inside buds

hershey12 is offline Registered

Worms inside buds

Hi guys, new to the forums here, though I come by once in awhile for information. I've been growing for about 4 years outdoors and have not run into this problem before.
    I have outdoor plants grown from bag seed about 3 weeks away from harvesting, and I noticed the buds were turning brown and dying, along with the small leaves around the buds. I've seen grasshoppers on the plants, and thought that might be the problem.
    I did a more intense inspection today and opened one of the buds up and found a tiny brown worm inside. I picked a few more and found the same problem.
    I'm posting a pic- sorry for the quality- the blue thing to the left of the pic is a cig lighter, so you can get an idea of the size.
    Any ideas?
    http://boards.cannabis.com/members/h...0507-small.jpg

2. Cannabis Seeds | Cannabis Seeds

Cannabis Seeds Delivered World Wide, Top Free Seeds with ALL orders. 

Medical Marijuana Dispensary Finder

Medical Marijuana Directory

phatsesh101 is offline Registered+
    first time with this prob huh lucky

could be bud worms or caterpillar although i dont usually see any til bout september spray something b4 the buds form. i used to just pick them out but i was young and just liked to dig through the bushes it suckks when they burrow deep into a monster cola then it just rots away and you wont see them unless you rip the buds open or they die (the buds)

Too late, I already have nice buds forming. Looks like one plant is heavily infested (about 30% of the buds are dying), and the other is lightly infested.
    I may be smoking some dried worms this winter.
    I'm going through cutting out the dead buds, hoping to save the rest of the plant. Next year I'll try the caterpillar spray. I'm wondering if planting them next to the tomato plants this year is what did it- I've never had them near my vegetables before.
    Thanks for your help!