How many people never got the chance?

Discussion in 'Medicinal Cannabis and Health' started by TomSawyer2112, Jul 2, 2018.

1. TomSawyer2112

TomSawyer2112 Registered+

Let me preface this opinion piece by saying that I am NOT a journalist, medical doctor or anyone who thinks they are some sort of scholar. My grammar is atrocious. I am NOT a professional at this.
    I’m just a poor old smelly firefighter who’s fighting Renal Cell Carcinoma, prostate issues and a host of other medical issues. Aside from a 50 hour work week I spend most of my off time taking care of an elderly parent, fighting Dallas traffic, and watching Netflix with my dogs. So this commentary is not going to be Pulitzer material. But I have to get this off of my chest.
    Late last night I started thinking of all the people who died of cancer and other illnesses never knowing that Cannabis could have saved their lives. It’s those dark, quiet peaceful moments when the whispers of the past can sometimes be heard over the crickets, frogs and the lulling drone of a box fan.
    So as I laid back and thought of all the actors that we’ve enjoyed on the silver screen who passed away from cancer and other diseases in the last 70 years, it got me thinking. What if they had been able to use all those cannabis products from the 1900s-1930s?What if, beyond 1937 to current day and along with access to those products, the market had been able to freely research cannabis and its healing properties in an open, legal environment free from government interference?
    Think of all the movie stars and famous people who died of cancer and other diseases over the past 70 years like John Wayne and so many others.
    Think of all the beautiful children who have died of cancer, epilepsy and other diseases in the past 70 years.
    Consider all the deaths from Parkinson’s, AIDS and Altzimers. Then I got angry. Why? They never got the chance to try cannabis.