IBS-D solutions

Discussion in 'Medicinal Cannabis and Health' started by Drew185, Apr 3, 2017.

1. Drew185

Drew185 Registered

I've been combing through your message boards and related websites for answers about how marijuana might help my IBS-D. But google searches come back with breathless clickbait and wildly conflicting information about effectiveness and legality. I'm completely new to this and need answers to specific questions about my situation. I'll do the research myself if you can point me in the right direction. I'll also list some of my questions here.

Is there a reliable resource that can offer answers? Is it here on this site?

-I'm a disabled veteran with IBS-D and severe back pain (likely caused by side effects of extreme IBS). I've been through countless VA and civilian doctors who have no idea how to treat it. Several sources suggested that marijuana might help. But I live in Virginia and I've never dealt with marijuana in any way before. So I need to figure out how everything works.

-Do I need to go to another state like Colorado?
    -Do I need to go to a medical professional to get a recommendation (since they say prescriptions are illegal)? If so, how long does that take? Who do I go to?
    -Or can I get some products myself that will help?
    -What's the price range to get something that will help?
    -I looked at an encyclopedia of types and sorted by strains that help IBS, which didn't really narrow it down much. So almost anything will help? Is there any way to know what would be best? Or is it ok to just get anything and be confident it will help?

Lots of questions.

Thanks for any help.

2. Weezard

Weezard Registered+

Wish I had lots of answers for you.
    You can try searching for grannystormcrow.
    She keeps a listing of maladies treatable with cannabis.
    Those of us that have not experienced IBS can not truly sympathize.
    But we do care.