My experience with cooking edibles and their potency: a semi scientific approach

Discussion in 'Edibles' started by cannabaker, Mar 8, 2012.

1. cannabaker

cannabaker Registered

First off, this site is awesome and I've been lurking here for a while without contributing. So I thought I'd contribute with a question I've had, that I finally think I've answered with my own experience and a bit of research. Also I know this is a really long post and I apologise, but the details are necessary so you can see why I've reached my hypothesis.

So, I'm a medical student, avid chef and love weed. Making edibles is the culmination of three very important pillars in my life. I've been using cannabis for a few years now, but only in the past year have I started edibles. Basically, each time I have made edibles I have attempted to improve from the previous batch. But one batch stood out from the rest. And I think I know why. Here is my timeline:

1. Cannabutter: I made a fair bit of canna butter with a good deal of success. First just in a pan, then I did the butter in water method. Good high, not a great taste though. I decided that I would then progress to canna oil (stores better, more discrete).

2. Cannaoil batch one: My first batch of oil was fucking unreal! I cooked an ounce of pot into 750ml of oil. From that I made about 12 batches of edibles where each batch would get 6 people damn high. So essentially I was getting 72 doses from 28 grams of pot, as in 0.4g per person to get really high. Best highs I've ever had.

Method: oil on water in a slow cooker. Cooked for 12 hours, constantly topping up water. Towards the end water evaporated quicker than I anticipated and I accidentally let the cannabis fry in the oil.

3. Cannaoil batch two: This time, I repeated the oil and water method, but monitored it better and there was no frying. Oil had a better taste than the first batch (less burnt flavour), but the high was noticeably less potent.