Seeds or Clones

Discussion in 'Basic Growing' started by Wesley Lang, Oct 21, 2016.

1. Wesley Lang

Wesley Lang Registered

I am new to the growing scene. However, it seems that there are a number of popular strains sold in the dispensaries identified by name so that customers can readily identify their favorite product. I was told that once a grower develops a popular strain, they then mass produce that strain via cloning. Based on this, it's my impression that most growers these days produce most of their product by cloning. My question is, other than for the purpose of crossing breeds to develop new strains, is there any advantage to growing from seed. It seems that, except for a few boutique organic growers, few people grow from seeds anymore. Am I correct in this?

2. raymont

raymont Registered+

A lot of growers only use seed to guarantee a particular strain. Some say its best from seed as the seed vs clone will have a "tap" root, or main vertical root. I do know when going with seed you can add more time for starting and veg...

• Agree Agree x 1
  3. Wesley Lang

Wesley Lang Registered

4. Weezard

Weezard Registered+

Not for nothin' but the first thing I do with clones is put one aside and stress the hell out of her.
    If I can force male flowering, I use that feminized pollen to breed seeds with the females.
    A single branch that might give me an 1/8th oz. can yield 50 seeds.
    Think about the price of an 1/8th compared to the price of 50 seeds.
    No brainer, yah?

Not to mention you may come up with a better pheno than the original. I know I did! :)

Carry on,
    Wee 'zard

• Like Like x 1
  5. EvilCartman

EvilCartman Registered+

In my very limited experience with outdoor guerilla gardening, I've found my plants from seed will always outperform the cloned plants. Probably because of the tap root, like raymont mentioned. The tap root goes deep faster, giving the plant a better chance with any competition.